Go Back
Chocolate Oat Breakfast Bars - Gluten-free and Dairy-free - Homemade Energy Bar Recipe
5 from 2 votes
Print

Chocolate Oat Breakfast Bars (gluten-free)

These gluten-free breakfast bars are perfect for busy mornings or after-school snacks. Wholesome, filling and delicious!
Course Breakfast, Snack
Keyword breakfast recipe, oat bars
Prep Time 10 minutes
Cook Time 25 minutes
Total Time 35 minutes
Servings 18 Bars

Ingredients

  • 3 cups whole grain rolled oats gluten-free
  • ½ cup warm water
  • ½ cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • ½ cup chopped raw almonds
  • ½ cup chopped raw pecans
  • ½ cup dark chocolate chips
  • ¼ cup natural raw honey
  • ¾ cup nut butter or nut and seed butter combo
  • ¼ cup coconut oil
  • ½ cup almond milk
  • ¼ cup cocoa powder
  • 3 tablespoons pure maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease a 9 x 13 baking dish.

  2. Add rolled oats and water to a large mixing bowl. Stir until well combined and set aside for 5 minutes.
  3. Add coconut, almonds, pecans and chocolate chips. Mix and set aside.
  4. In a medium saucepan over low heat, melt honey, nut butter and coconut oil. Add almond milk, cocoa powder and maple syrup and mix until completely dissolved. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla.
  5. Pour over oat mixture and mix thoroughly.
  6. Press into baking dish using a spatula or slightly wet hands.

  7. Bake for 15 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool slightly. Cut into 18 even-sized bars.
  8. Transfer to a parchment lined baking sheet and return to oven for another 10-12 minutes (until the edges are dry to the touch and golden brown).
  9. Allow to cool for a few minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack. Store in an airtight container for up to a week or pop into the freezer.

Recipe Notes

  • Gluten-free rolled oats are labelled as such. I used Bob's Red Mill brand. If gluten isn't a concern, you can use any whole grain rolled oats.
  • Some dark chocolate chips contain milk or milk ingredients. Be sure to read the label if dairy is a concern.